Limit search to items available for checkout
Title Irish political prisoners, 1920-1962 : pilgrimage of desolation / Seán McConville.
Imprint Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, Taylor & Taylor Group, [2019]


 Internet  Electronic Book    AVAILABLE
Description 1 online resource.
Note "First published 2014 by Routledge."
Bibliog. Includes bibliographical references.
Note Available only to authorized UTEP users.
Bio/Hist Note Seǹ McConville is Professor of Law and Public Policy at Queen Mary, University of London. He has researched and taught at leading universities on both sides of the Atlantic. His interests and publications range widely, from Islamic criminal law to prison architecture, but have clustered around the philosophy and administration of punishment - historically, comparatively and in current debates. He is the author of the first in this trilogy Irish Political Prisoners 1848-1922 (Routledge, 2005).
Note Online resource; title from PDF title page (Taylor & Francis, viewed May 5, 2020).
Subject Political prisoners -- Northern Ireland -- History -- 20th century.
Political prisoners -- England -- History -- 20th century.
Political violence -- Ireland -- History -- 20th century.
Government, Resistance to -- Ireland -- History -- 20th century.
Punishment -- England -- History -- 20th century.
Irish question.
Northern Ireland.
Genre History.
Summary 'Irish Political Prisoners 1920-1962' presents a detailed and gripping overview of political imprisonment from 1920-1962. Sean McConville examines the years from the formation of the Northern Ireland state to the release of the last border campaign prisoners in 1962. Drawing extensively and, in many cases, uniquely on archives and special collections in the three jurisdictions, and interviews with survivors from the period, McConville demonstrates how punishment came to embody and shape the nationalist consciousness.